The Bay Area Urban Area Security Initiative is widely viewed as having an important, ground breaking regional approach to the prevention, protection, response and recovery efforts associated with terrorism and disasters both natural and man-made, that is recognized and may be replicated throughout the state and across the country. A multi-year agreement allows the coordination of UASI funds with other federal funding sources towards all hazards preparedness, response or recovery initiatives such as Regional Catastrophic Planning, Interoperable Communications, Information Sharing, and Chemical/Biological/Radiological/Nuclear capabilities.

The Bay Area Urban Area Security Initiative program's footprint is comprised of three major cities (Oakland, San Francisco, and San Jose) and ten counties (Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Solano, and Sonoma), and more than 100 incorporated cities.

The Bay Area UASI:

  • Enhances regional capability through regional collaboration.
  • Targets funding to build core capabilities to prevent, respond, and recover from disaster.
  • Responsibly leverages and manages grant funds to achieve the optimal result with the dollars available, using a regional approach.
  • Researches, learns from, and shares what works well and what does not to inform program/product development.
  • Through strategic, well thought through, multi-year program plans, builds on work that started with the Regional Emergency Coordination Plan; continues this year with program assessments, plans, toolkits, guidebooks, other equipment and training; and will advance in 2009 and beyond to bring about greater implementation and training.
  • To improve the capacity to prevent, protect against, respond to, and recover from terrorist incidents or related catastrophic events by providing planning, training, equipment and exercises to the UASI region.

      Learn More

      image 33
      image 31

      Follow Us